Williams said Parcells told him: “Don’t go chasing this thing too long”

The Jim Rome Show

Former NFL running back Ricky Williams said after his 2011 season in Baltimore he was excited to return to the Ravens, until a text conversation with a former boss. Williams told Jim Rome on his radio program one message from Bill Parcells really resonated with him.

“’Don’t go chasing this thing too long, you can contribute in other ways,’” Williams said Parcells told him. “I guess the first thing that struck me was that was the last thing I expected to hear from Parcells. So it kind of got me thinking a little bit and I realized that I did have more to offer and that there were things that I could be doing that would be more fun, not necessarily as lucrative.”

Williams told Rome he enjoyed the time he spent with Parcells in Miami, but admitted he thought their time together would be brief at first. The running…

View original post 415 more words

Leave a Reply

